3-Day Juice Cleanse

Image

I’ve been tossing around the idea of a juice cleanse for a long time. I like the idea of pushing some kind of ‘reset’ button on my digestive system. I’ve been struggling for several months with weight gain, fatigue, bloating and stomach issues, headaches and brain fog just to name a few. I’ve had several tests done to get to the bottom of it and still now answers. Quite frankly, I’m really sick of doctors. I’ve decided it’s time to doing some “tests” on my own.

I decided to begin an elimination diet. An elimination diet will basically help you pinpoint food allergies and sensitivities by eliminating the most common food allergen. After a short period of time you start adding foods back in one at a time to “challenge” your diet. With careful attention to how I feel and journaling I should be able to figure out what foods make me sick!

I decided the best way to start this this elimination diet though, is with a 3-day juice cleanse. I’m going to flush out all offending foods, additives and preservatives and hopefully figure out what’s going on.

Fast Forward to today – Day one of the Juice Cleanse.

Image

“Day 1 Green Juice Recipe”
Makes enough for breakfast and lunch

2 apples
1 bunch of celery
3 carrots
1 cucumber

The taste is pretty decent – certainly grows on you. It’s much sweeter than I would have guessed. To be honest, when I woke up this morning I was not prepared for this. I needed to go to the farmer’s market and grocery store. So I improvised my breakfast juice with what I had on hand, which happened to be: 1 apple, a head of lettuce, baby carrots, and about 8 strawberries and some ginger. It turned out great – so i might refine that recipe a little later.

So now it’s been about 10 hours since I started. I’ve sipped on juice all day and I actually have a lot of energy. I tried to take a nap (in all honesty, it was so I could take my mind off wanting to eat solid food), but I was to wired to sleep. I snacked on a few fresh strawberries this afternoon, and I drank a cup of coffee for breakfast and having one now. I realize that’s probably not technically allowed, but I’m going to cut myself some slack today. Tomorrow, I get to do it again!

Leave a Reply

